The name Tintagel comes from the Cornish “Din Tagell” meaning fort by the neck of land and it was first recorded in 1137.
The area abounds in Arthurian legends with the castle believed by many to be Camelot, Arthurs birthplace and Slaughterbridge, some 5 miles from Tintagel, the site of the battle of Camlann where Arthur and Mordred, his half son, killed each other. Whether any of this is true will be debated for many a year. However, the ruins of the castle, which can be seen today in their dramatic setting on a virtual island, were built about 1235 by Earl Richard of Cornwall.
The other historic building in Tintagel is The Old Post Office (National Trust). This is a rare example of 14th century Cornish domestic architecture and was in fact the manor house, but one room was used in the 19th century as the letter receiving office for the district.
Tintagel is on the Southwest Costal path, in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and provides walkers and tourists with plenty of exercise whilst experiencing the picturesque scenery and views for which the north Cornish coast is truly famous.
As a holiday base Tintagel and the adjoining village of Bossiney offer a range of hotels, guest houses and bed and breakfast establishments to cater for all pockets. It is 3 miles from the village of Boscastle and in addition The Eden Project, Trerice, Lanhydrock and the Lost Gardens of Heigan can all be reached within 90 minutes by car.
Text supplied with kind permission from Malcolm Matthew, Westcote House B&B.